1 image, 3 different coloring mediums

Hello friends!

Sorry I’ve been quiet. My kiddo was sick and stayed home with me for many days, so I couldn’t get much done. I was also occupied with design team projects as well. My daughter was able to go back to school few days ago, so I’m trying to catch-up on both personal and DT projects. By the way, CDD will be having Sneak Peek hop from Jan 18 ~ Jan 23! Some of my first DT projects will be showcased during this event, so I’m hoping you guys could join the fun and hop along! There will be giveaways during the hop! πŸ™‚ CDD January release is packed with cuteness! I cannot wait for you guys to see and get your hands on them! You can see all the CDD January Sneak Peek Hop info here. I created my fan pageΒ https://www.facebook.com/HandmadebyJLY/ , and you will be able to see my CDD projects there once the hop goes live! Hope you see you guys there! πŸ™‚

 

Now, here are the 3 cards I created!

I created these cards to send out to my friends for different occasions. The card design is very simple. One colored image, a sentiment, and some embellishments. However, I did put effort in coloring the images for each card with different coloring mediums.

I used the watering can stamp from “Home Sweet Home” set from CDD, and the sentiments are from “Say It Big” stamp set.

CDD_HOMESaybigstamp

I colored the watering can image in 3 different coloring mediums: Peerless Watercolors, Copic markers, and Prismacolor colored pencils.

  1. Peerless Watercolors are pigmented sheets of paper. You can pick up the colors right off the sheets with water brushes or regular watercolor brushes, and transfer the pigments to the palette to blend, or apply directly to your projects. For this card, I stamped the water can image on Canson XL watercolor paper with Tim Holtz distress ink in “Antique Linen” for no-line coloring. Distress ink reactivates with water and this color blends in with the rest of the colors, so it’s perfect ink for this purpose. Then I colored the image with various colors from Peerless Watercolors palette. I applied many layers of lighter shades instead of applying concentrated pigments. This helps to achieve better blending and depth. Then I stamped the greeting “Hello” with Versafine Black Onyx ink (watercolor friendly), and heat set with clear embossing powder. I cut down the watercolor paper to 4″x5.25″, rounded the corners .5″ with the corner chomper, and adhered it on the 4.25″x5.5″ black card base with the .5″ score tape. I finished the card with some Pretty Pink Posh clear sequins. IMG_1094
  2. Copic markers are alcohol based markers. They are pricey, but it’s a good investment in my opinion. For this card, I stamped the image on Neenah solar white 80 lb. cardstock with Memento Black Tuxedo ink (copic friendly). I colored it with copics, blending various colors. Then I stamped “Thank you,” with Versafine Black Onyx ink and heat set with clear embossing powder. I trimmed the paper down to 4″x5.25″ and adhered on black card base, and adhered some clear droplets. IMG_1095
  3. Prismacolor colored pencils are high quality pencils. It blends well and easy to use. I stamped the image on same paper and ink pad I used on the copic marker card above. I stamped “Happy Birthday” and heat set just like the other 2 cards. For this card, I rounded the corners .5″ both card stock (4″x5.5″) and the card base (4.25×5.5″), and embellished with the hemp cord. I also added some clear droplets. IMG_1093

 

Colors I used:

  • Peerless Watercolors: Royal Crimson, Blood Red, Pearl Gray, Natural Tint, Warm Sepia, Brilliant Yellow, Orange Yellow, Hunter’s Green, Olive Green.
  • Copic markers: C1, C3, C5, W1, W3, W5, R27, R29, R39, Y15, Y17, YR04, G07, G19, YG13
  • Prismacolor colored pencils: 1058, 1054, 1060, 915, 1002, 942, 913, 1005, 908, 923, 924, 1052, 1056

 

Hope you enjoyed these cards! Thank you for visiting and have a wonderful crafty day!

Please don’t forget to follow! ^.~*

 

2 thoughts on “1 image, 3 different coloring mediums

Leave a Reply

