#30dayColoringChallenge Blog Hop!

30daychallengebloghopphoto

Hello! Welcome to Day 2 of The Daily Marker 30 Day Coloring Challenge. Today is the FIRST day of a THREE DAY blog hop to jumpstart your creativity. If you’re new to the coloring challenge or have any questions about the coloring challenge you can refer to this post : http://www.thedailymarker.com/2016/10/coloring-challenge-bring-it-on/
If you are coming from Mayra Duran-Hernandez  blog, you are in the right place. To start at the beginning of the hop go to The Daily Marker’s blog here. http://www.thedailymarker.com/2016/10/day-2-blog-hop-12-giveaways/


First of all, I am super excited to be a part of this amazing blog hop among the most talented group of crafters, designers, and artists! I am so honored and humbled. 
Since this is a coloring challenge, I focused more on the coloring rather than the card design itself. I chose Technique Tuesday’s Rhododendron stamp set. I bought this stamp set a while ago, and quite honestly, I was intimidated by the delicate image at first, and put it away to color it in the future. Well, I always try to go out of my comfort zone and do something different for each coloring challenge, so I thought this set was perfect for the occasion. I stamped the image on various of papers, and created many different looks by coloring with different mediums. I enjoyed coloring each and every image I am about to show you and I hope you’d enjoy them too!


For the first project, I stamped the image on a Neenah Solar White 80lb. cardstock in The Ton’s Caviar Hybrid ink. Then I colored the image with various of Copic markers. I did not put this project on a card base yet, but I used it as the reference guide for all the rest of the projects.
The colors I used are: V12, V15, V17, BV08, C00, C1, C3, YG01, YG03, YG17, YG67, Y13, and colorless blender. I drew in some white dots with Signo White Gel pen. (Something I learned from Kathy 🙂 )
rhodo_copic_fe1
rhodo_copic_ce1


For the second project, I stamped the image on a Neenah Desert Storm 100lb kraft cardstock in The Ton’s Noir Ink. This ink gives me crisp image every time and it dries very fast. I colored entire image with Polychromos color pencils. I love using Polychromos pencils when I color on karft, because it layers much better than the Prismacolor color pencils in my opinion, and the darker cardstocks usually require more layering of the colors. I used Prismacolor Colorless Blender here and there to soften any harsh lines. And for the highlight around the image, I used Luminance White color pencil, as this pencil is very opaque and perfect for highlights. I also added some white dots with the Signo White Gel pen. I put this panel on black card base and embellished with The Ton’s Glass Slippers sequins and Purple Glitter tape.
rhodo_kraft_fe1
rhodo_kraft_ce1
rhodo_kraft_ce2


Next, I stamped the image on a Bristol cardstock (I love using this cardstock for Zig pens) in The Ton’s Noir Ink. I colored it with Zig Clean Color Real Brush markers and blended the colors with Spectrum Noir Clear Sparkle pen instead of clean clear water. By using the sparkle pen, it gives the image tons of shine and sparkles. It is definitely one of my favorite ways to watercolor!
The colors I used are: Deep Violet, Purple, Yellow, Dark Brown, Cobalt Blue (for background), Light Green, and Deep Green.
I used die cuts from my stash to create the frame and embellished with clear sequins and dew drops.
 rhodo_zig_fe1
rhodo_zig_ce1
rhodo_zig_ce2


For this image, I was in a total experimental mode. I used a watercoloring medium called Gouache, and this was my very first time coloring with it. I stamped the image on Arches cold press watercolor paper in Versamark ink and heat embossed with Wow Superfine White embossing powder for the emboss resist technique.
I first struggled to mix red and blue to create purple (there was no purple in the set I purchased. Ha!), then I also struggled coloring with it. However, I am a big fan of trying different coloring mediums and I enjoyed experimenting and coloring with Gouache! I definitely need to practice more!
The colors I used are: Permanent Yellow, Terre Verte, Permanent Green Deep, Emerald Green, Peacock Blue, Ultramarine Blue, Prussian Blue, Carmine, Flame Red, and Raw Umber.
rhodo_gouache_fe1
rhodo_gouache_ce1
rhodo_gouache_ce2


Last but not least, I used Mijello Mission Gold watercolors to color the image. I stamped the image on Arches cold press watercolor paper in The Ton’s Noir ink. I constantly  wet the image with water mister so that the colors bloom throughout the image. However, the control freak side of me (lol!) made me go back and outline the entire image with EK Success Journaling Pen to create more crisp look. One of these days, I will let it go and let the paint do what it likes to do! lol! After outlining, I used few Polychromos pencils (Mauve, Pine Green, and Earth Green Yellowish) to add bit more depth to the image and added some white dots.
The watercolors I used are: Bright Clear Violet, Red Violet, Yellow Green, Hooker’s Green, Van Dyke Green, and Permanent Yellow Light.
For the card design, I used The Ton’s Double Stitched Circle dies and Double Stitched Rectangle dies, as well as Hello word die. I also used Matte Gold sequins from The Ton to finish off the card.
rhodo_wc_fe1
rhodo_wc_ce1
rhodo_wc_ce2


GIVEAWAY : 12 GOODIE BAGS ! That’s TWELVE CHANCES TO WIN during the three day hop. The more you comment on each hoppers blog or instagram the more chances you have of winning. Winners will be chosen randomly FROM THE BLOGS and INSTAGRAM hop comments. The full list of winners will be announced Wed. Nov 16th 9 am. at www.thedailymarker.com (contest closes 11.13 at 11pm. EST)


Now it’s time to hop to fabulously talented Liz Sarkisyan !
Here is the entire line up of today’s blog hop!
Jenny Lee Yamasaki <— You are here! 🙂


Thank you for your visit today and I hope to see you during the coloring challenge. Be sure to use the hashtag #thedailymarker30day so we can find your work or you can join the Facebook group here. https://www.facebook.com/groups/201290420294581/
Hugs,
ton_signature

303 thoughts on “#30dayColoringChallenge Blog Hop!

  1. BEAUTIFUL flowers and STUNNING colouring – WOW – it is almost MAGICAL the result achieved with the different mediums!!! THANK YOU for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment